Anoka-Hennepin Community Education has partnered with Safeway Driving School to provide an additional opportunity for high school students to complete their classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction outside of the traditional school day. Safeway’s only focus is creating safe, responsible teen drivers. Classroom and behind-the-wheel lessons emphasize defensive driving techniques tailored for the inexperienced teen driver while targeting to influence the invincible teen attitude. All of Safeway’s instructors are licensed by the Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety. The MN Department of Public Safety has approved a variance to State statutes that temporarily allows for teleconference driver’s ed instruction. This variance allows students to learn from home through virtual communication with a licensed instructor. The State of Minnesota requires that driver’s education distance learning be conducted in a face-to-face platform, which requires that students have a video camera and audio capabilities on their devices. Safeway has chosen a secure Zoom platform to conduct the class. Safeway will be emailing the classroom handouts and 2020 MN Driver’s Manual in pdf format for printing. Students will be required to be in front of the camera and interactive for the full three-hour class. Parents/guardians will be required to complete Safeway’s Account Verification. Safeway will be sending out an email before class begins that gives detailed information about how to login to the student’s Safeway account to verify and complete contact information and to review and acknowledge our Service Agreement. Classroom instruction prepares the student to take the Minnesota permit test and begin the responsibility of driving. The 30 hours of classroom is structured into 10 independent lessons. If a student misses a lesson, they can make up that exact lesson number at the next session or at one of Safeway’s other classroom locations. Students can take the class at age 14½ but cannot take their permit test until age 15. After class is completed, students who are 15 years old are eligible to take their permit test at any Minnesota exam center. The permit test is not providing during the class. Behind-the-wheel instruction includes six hours of driving in three, two-hour private lessons. All driving is done in a Safeway car on city streets, highways and freeways with a responsible, licensed Safeway instructor. Safeway recommends students take their first lesson two to three weeks after receiving their permit card and after five hours of practice driving. Students have one year after completing classroom to finish their behind-the-wheel lessons. Scheduling is offered online for 24/7 convenience. All of Safeway’s cars are white with identical graphics so parents and students are confident that it is a Safeway car picking up the student for a lesson. Students can get picked up for their behind-the-wheel lesson from home, school or work. Parent involvement is required to produce safe, responsible teen drivers. It is critical that parents practice regularly with their student drivers. The state requires that students have a minimum of 50 hours of practice (15 hours at night). The practice time must be recorded on a state-approved Supervised Driving Log and presented at the road test. Parent Classes are offered monthly at Safeway’s nearby classrooms. This class is not required but qualifies the parent to receive a certificate that allows their student reduced practice time (from 50 to 40 hours). At a minimum, Safeway strongly encourages parents to review its parent information and watch the online Parent Class Videos at www.safewaydrivingschool.com. Cost of the teen package is $355 and includes the classroom and behind-the-wheel lessons, and all materials. Pay in full upon registration or choose the payment plan: $205 payable to Community Education upon registration and $150 (two payments of $75 each) payable to Safeway at the behind-the-wheel lessons. Due to the unpredictability of COVID-19, we understand there is some hesitation to commit to activities at this time. For your convenience, we are now offering participants the opportunity to “Register Now, Pay Later!” Reserve your spot, now! Mark your calendar as something to look forward to. You won’t be charged until later. Please provide us with your payment information at the time of checkout, and we will only charge your account five business days prior to the class start date. No regrets: You will be notified if this class is cancelled, and no charges will be made.